{Interview} Denise Tan in SRT’s Romantic Comedy of the Year ~ Hello Goodbye

If you haven’t gotten the chance to catch Hello Goodbye since our review, do book your tickets at SISTIC soon because you have less than two weeks before the run ends on 26 September 2015.

SAys! Happy Mums had the unique opportunity to interview Denise Tan who plays the spunky impetuous Juliet in Hello Goodbye. Denise hosted this year’s SG50 National Day Parade and the talented actress and Gold 90.5 FM deejay is also the newest Dim Sum Dolly! I truly enjoy watching her on stage and loved her in her role as Choo Bee Lean in Fried Rice Paradise, Little Red Riding Hood in Into The Woods and as Gretel in Hansel and Gretel, just to name a few.

And guess what, Denise is equally lovable in her role as Juliet in Hello Goodbye, despite her failed attempts to threaten and bully Alex (Shane Mardjuki) into leaving the apartment that she claims is hers…LOL!

For fans of Denise, here are some questions we asked Denise  🙂

15-07-08-srt_hello-goodbye_0416-r1-683x1024-e1442472013184

Hi Denise,

We’re really so excited to see you on stage soon with Hello Goodbye and thanks again for taking the time to entertain our curiosity haha…

How do you juggle your time between being one of the top DJs and acting? 

How? On a wing and a prayer. A lot of prayer! Haha.

I think it’s down to making sure you have understanding bosses and co-workers, a good grip on your time management and an endless supply of coffee! Even if my days start with being on air from 10am-2pm and then continue with theatre rehearsals usually from 3-10pm, the wonderful thing is being able to do the two things I really love, so whilst it can get stressful juggling both, I really can’t complain!

Growing up, did you see yourself being where you are today – being an accomplished actress and having an exciting career as a DJ? Did you take classes that brought you where you are today? Are you living your dream? 🙂 

I think growing up I didn’t know what I’d end up doing, but I know what I loved to do – I’ve always been a little drama queen – I remember singing for my parents’ friends, dancing in front of mirrors, making up little skits with my friends and continuing with that just seemed a natural thing to do all through school.

I took ballet lessons, was in the choir, ELDDS, various drama clubs and musical theatre societies all the way from primary school to university. I can’t say I could see myself being where I am today, cos I’ve never been a planner, but sticking to what I loved to do seems to have worked for me. So I suppose in that way, I am living the dream because I’m doing what I love.

Could you share some funny moments at rehearsals with Shane?

Having to cook for Shane without killing him doesn’t sound very funny, but it was, the first time we rehearsed me actually cooking!

The food was half-cooked and possibly not exactly 100% hygienically prepared, so I had to stop and yell at him not to actually eat it in the middle of the scene!

Who would be the perfect man for you? Is there anyone romantic at the moment?

I’m not looking for perfection, just understanding. Haha. My schedule doesn’t exactly leave much room for a social, let alone romantic life!

You always look ravishing and lovely, what are your beauty tips? Lol!

Aw, thanks!

Always take your make-up off at the end of the day before sleeping, moisturize well and… SUNSCREEN, SUNSCREEN, SUNSCREEN. I use SPF 50-70.

15-07-08-SRT_Hello-Goodbye_0449-r1-683x1024

Still thinking about whether or not to catch this funny yet heart-warming enjoyable romantic comedy? We say, forget about the haze and take some time off together to watch Denise Tan and Shane Mardjuki in this witty yet touching production and fall in love again. 🙂 Ticketing details at the end of post.

Thank you for joining us on SAys! Happy Mums.  If you liked what you’ve read on our blog, please follow us on Facebook for the latest updates.  We hope to see you back again soon.

SAys! Audrey 🙂

About Hello Goodbye

hello goodbye 2

When :  2 – 26 September 2015
Time : 8pm
Duration: ~Approximately 1 hours 30 minutes (15 minutes interval)
Tickets available through:
SISTIC Website

SISTIC Hotline (65) 6348 5555
SISTIC Authorised Agents islandwide
Ticket Pricing (Excludes Booking Fee)
Preview (2 & 4 Sept 2015) Standard: S$40, S$30, S$15(SRT Youth)
Weekdays (Tue – Thur)
Standard: S$50, S$40, S$15(SRT Youth)
Weekends(Saturday) & Public Holiday(24 Sep)
Standard: S$60, S$50, S$15(SRT Youth)
Note :
Photographs unless otherwise stated are copyright of the Singapore Repertory Theatre.
About SAys! Happy Mums

We are a Singapore Mum Blog hosted by BFFs Shirley & Audrey. We blog about our children, parenting and family lifestyle. Most often than not, we find ourselves immersed in family and kids entertainment and can't escape from the lure of great food!

One thought on “{Interview} Denise Tan in SRT’s Romantic Comedy of the Year ~ Hello Goodbye

  1. Pingback: {Review} SRT’s Hello Goodbye| Is It Really Happily Ever After? | SAys! Happy Mums

Leave a Reply

