Two Chefs Eating Place 双厨菜馆 ~ Butter Pork Ribs

We went for dinner with my in-laws on Saturday night since we had no idea over the meal.  I was thankful that they selected a makan place which none of us had tried before.  Another plus for selecting somewhere that is so-very-near to where we were.

By the time we arrived at Two Chefs Eating Place @ Sin Ming Avenue, it was already 650PM, with lots of traffic at the car park and one very last parking lot at the basement to save us from the impending thunderstorm.  The zi char is located inside a big kopitiam, with what I see, only 2 other food stalls there aside from the drinks stall.  Tables are packed edge to edge, with hardly any comfortable walking space in between.  Many diners were waiting for their food from just one stall – THE 1ST GOOD SIGN!

My in-laws had already reached earlier and ordered food.  Our dishes were served within 5 minutes the moment we sat down.

Two Chefs Eating Place – Menu 

Two Chefs Eating Place

Two Chefs Eating Place

Drunken Cold Cockles 醉蛤 $6

This garnishing on this dish is appetising with a little sweet, yet savoury sauce topped with lots of garlic, spring onion and power chilli padi.  I didn’t dare to eat the cockle meat though as the bloody and often times smelly shell fish is never my dare-to-eat food.

Two Chefs Eating Place

Drunken Cold Cockles 醉蛤 $6

Sang Mien 生面 $6

Not disappointing!  This is one of my favourite zi char quick dish.  The noodles are crispy and fresh without the oily smelly sometimes served at other zi char places.  I was also happy to note that the sliced fish and prawns were also fresh.

Two Chefs Eating Place

Sang Mien 生面 $6

Salted Egg Yolk Prawns  咸蛋虾 $23

This!! Is awesome no less.  Despite repeatedly having tried salted egg yolk dishes at many zi char stalls, I nearly couldn’t stop myself from licking the plate clean of the salted egg yolk sauce.  The salted egg yolk is thick, creamy, buttery, and a little sweet after taste.  It was also topped off with a bit of crispy fragrant dried shrimps in it.  I found hubby contesting with me over the fragrant dried shrimps too,  I think he regretted alerting me over it.  This dish however, is not cheap as it made up a quarter of the overall bill size.  Although I didn’t count the qty of prawns served, I would estimate from this pic that each prawn would cost nearly $2?

Two Chefs Eating Place

Salted Egg Yolk Prawns  咸蛋虾 $23

Fragrant Beancurd  回香豆腐 $12

As the name suggested, this deep fried toufu with generous serving of minced meat already looked inviting when served.  The kids had 2 servings each.  And the minced meat alone was good to go with just plain rice.

Two Chefs Eating Place

Fragrant Beancurd  回香豆腐 $12

Butter Pork Ribs 牛油排骨 $12

This butter pork ribs is apparently one of the must-order dishes here.  Many other tables had this on the table.  When ours was served, everybody was watching it with eager anticipation waiting for whoever starting to dig in first.  The dish smelled like cereal prawn with rich, buttery flavour and a tinge of sweetness.  The moment I dug into my slice of pork rib coated with extra topping of butter powder, I knew that I must come back AGAIN!  Spoonfuls of the butter powder went into my rice too.  I guess this is how I maintain a “huat-ed” figure 😦   The pork rib itself is marinated with some spices, hence it wasn’t a dish for the kids.  Pork rib pieces were also not the tenderest but was ok generally.

Nobody in my family was sure what exactly it is but I read from ieatishootipost that it is prepared by adding flour, milk and other secret ingredients into melted butter.  However, having personally made pineapple tart balls with milk powder before, I pretty much believed that it is just Nespray added with icing sugar.  I have to find a way to reconfirm this somehow!

Two Chefs Eating Place

Butter Pork Ribs 牛油排骨 $12

Our Bill

We paid slightly more than $80 for 5A2C which was considered cheap by the serving size and no of pax.  Our family left the place happily with stomach-full of yummy food.  However, we soon realize that we were VERY THIRSTY while driving home.  I literally gulped water in the car.  Well, I guess I have sorted out that all the secret ingredients must be MSG!  Would I still return again now knowing that it’s laden with MSG?  There is certainly no urge to return in the near future by now.  Yes it was yummy but we can do away with same quality same price food without the MSG at elsewhere.

Two Chefs Eating Place

Two Chefs Eating Place

409 Sin Ming Ave MSCP Carpark #02-01, Singapore 570409 (Map)
Blk 116 Commonwealth Crescent #01-129 Singapore 140116  (Map)
We hope that you have enjoyed our makan place review.  Hope to see you back again at SAys! Happy Mums 🙂
Disclaimer : This is NOT a sponsored post.  We shared because we wanted to.  All opinions are ours.
About SAys! Happy Mums

We are a Singapore Mum Blog hosted by BFFs Shirley & Audrey. We blog about our children, parenting and family lifestyle. Most often than not, we find ourselves immersed in family and kids entertainment and can't escape from the lure of great food!

3 thoughts on “Two Chefs Eating Place 双厨菜馆 ~ Butter Pork Ribs

Leave a Reply

