Creamy Mushroom Soup

20150113_115207_resize_20150114_111948_0

I started making Creamy Mushroom Soup past 2 years when I discovered from my sis how simple it is to make one.  I’ve always loved a good serving of rich & creamy mushroom soup with small bite-sized chunks of mushrooms in it, served with truffle oil to enhance the taste.  However, I don’t always order it at the restaurants unless I know they serve authentic ones (not Campbell!).  My little R loves it too.  He’s a strange boy.  He doesn’t really like to eat stir-fried mushroom medley (the same kind), but he can ask for my homecooked mushroom soup 2x a day or keep it on his mind for 2-3 days, patiently waiting for me to make for him.

My sis shared this Recipe from Jamie Oliver and this became sort of the the only recipe I adapt from.  And since it is quite tedious to make in small batches (to me yes, using the blender is tedious as I am lazy to wash up), I make a big batch of about 10 servings each time.  Then I freeze them in individual portions for the family.  It is convenient for me to slot this in as a nutritious (although fattening) small meal for the kids right after I pick them from school.  Simply warm it up with milk, pour into water bottle and bring out!

Creamy Mushroom Soup

Ingredients

The amount of mushrooms used is as-you-like-it in the proportion or weight you prefer.

  • Portobello Mushrooms (2 trays)
  • Swiss Brown Mushrooms (1 tray)
  • White Button Mushrooms (2 trays)
  • Big Onion, loosely chopped
  • Garlic (I used Garlic Confit this time.  Click link for recipe)
  • Potatoes (I omitted this because the kids don’t like potato in it)
  • Chicken/Vegetable Stock (1 cup)
  • Bulla Thick Cream (the one with blue cap. It has more milk content than the one with red cap.)
  • Full Cream Milk (I use Devondale’s UHT as its less sweet)

Seasoning

  • Fresh Ground Pepper
  • Galic Salt
  • White Wine (I used DOM)
  • Olive Oil
  • Rosemary Leaves (I used dried kinds, my sis uses those from her garden)
  • Truffle Oil (before serving)

Method

1. Loosely break up all the mushrooms.  They don’t have to be tiny since most of them are going to be blended anyway.  Chop the onion loosely and set aside.   20150112_104645_resize_20150114_111953_0

2. Heat up the pot and warm up the Garlic Confit with olive oil i made earlier.  Add in the onion to sautee on low fire until they caramelize (I have lost the picture of onions in pot).

20150112_105334_resize_20150114_111952_0

3. After the onions have caramelized, add in all the mushrooms, give it a good stir and add chicken/vegetable stock into the pot to simmer on medium fire.  Stir the mushrooms occasionally.  Add in the seasoning and cover the pot.

20150112_111728_resize_20150114_111951_0

4.  When the mushrooms are cooked, they give out a lot of water. I let them cook for awhile more then I scoop out all of it before adding cream. This is a 10cm dia. kid’s Pororo bowl and is enough for 2 kids to share with blanched thick bee hoon as a main course at night.  I just need to add a meat dish.

20150112_112243_resize_20150114_111950_0

5. Add Bulla Thick Cream into the pot.  Mix well and let it simmer for awhile.

20150112_112524_resize_20150114_111950_0

20150112_112840_resize_20150114_111949_0

6.  The mushrooms are ready to be blended now.  I keep a small portion of them unblended while everything else will be blended into paste.

20150112_191131_resize_20150114_111948_0

For me, I portion and freeze the paste like this until ready to consume. This is a serving for 2A2C for dinner 2 days later.  If doing in large quantity, I would store in ziplock bag with all the air squeezed out.  Anyway, at this stage, add full cream milk and bring to a slow boil if you were to serve immediately.

7.  When ready to serve, I thaw the paste, add full cream milk and bring it to a slow boil. Taste check and add some garlic salt if required.  Top with truffle oil for more flavour (optional).

Enjoying his soup-in-a-bottle after school. Enough to last him for an hour before lunch is served.

So here goes, a serving of home-made recipe full of all things good in the bowl.  Hope you like it!

In the meantime, we are concurrently running another brand new giveaway.

GIVEAWAY (Creepy Mathematics #2) running from 18 Jan to 28 Jan 2015

Click this picture to join now

Brand new giveaway on Facebook!! Do click the above pic for contest details. 3 more sets to be given away in this round of giveaway. All the best!!

If you have liked what you’ve read, pls like our Facebook page at SAys! Happy Mums.  Hope to see you back again soon! 🙂

– SAys! Shirley

About SAys! Happy Mums

We are a Singapore Mum Blog hosted by BFFs Shirley & Audrey. We blog about our children, parenting and family lifestyle. Most often than not, we find ourselves immersed in family and kids entertainment and can't escape from the lure of great food!

Leave a Reply

