Chinese Beef Stew

I love beef stew!  I remember the first time I met Yuki from a gardening forum, and were preggy at the same time with EDD just months apart.  My nick was Yokogi.  Friends call me Yoko now.  Together, we were the very noisy YY sis in the forum hahahah!  We both worked at Raffles area then.  So we met for lunch for the first time and she brought me to this Old Chang Kee cafeteria near to her side of Raffles Place.  It was her favorite.  I believe it is now one of our common memory from 8yrs ago.  Time really can fly!

Aside from the Air Fryer, my other favorite kitchen toy is my Esiway thermal pan that Best Mum got for me.  No offence to Happy Call users, but my family prefers Esiway as it doesn’t come with the silicon seal.  It gives us a better peace of mind knowing that I am not infusing silicon into my food.  It is also taller (base to ceiling), and overall bigger than Happy Call pan.

Here’s sharing my version of beef stew (chinese style) that I will cook whenever I have few hours to “watch” the stove.  I always used Esiway to cook my stew.  Takes me just 1.5hrs of stewing time to get that melt-in-the-mouth kind of beef.

20141225_161432_0

Chinese Beef Stew Recipe (For 8 pax)

Ingredients :-

  • Abt $10 worth of Chuck Beef (I used to buy beef from this market stall at Chinatown wet market.  Their beef is really fresh and full of tendon that MELTS!)
  • 1 fat radish (I put more of radish simply for the love of it)
  • 2 carrots
  • 1 green radish (I didn’t get any for long time because they all seem to be sourced from China)
  • 2 big onions
  • stump of ginger, finely sliced
  • 1 clove of garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 teaspoon corn flour (mixed with warm water, used as gravy thickener at last stage)
Radish, Carrot, Onion, Garlic (no ginger)

Radish, Carrot, Onion, Garlic (no ginger at home)

Marinate :-

  • 1 tablespoon light soya sauce
  • 1 tablespoon dark soya sauce
  • 1/2 cup Shaoxing Hua Tiao Wine
  • 2 tablespoons Cooking oil
  • Garlic Powder
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon Sesame Oil
  • 1.5 tablespoon Oyster Sauce
  • Chinese Pepper Powder

20141225_123820_0

 Method :-

  1. Dice beef and add into above marinate, for at least 2hrs.  Keep it chilled & covered in the fridge.
  2. Dice up all the other ingredients.  Rinse and drain dry.
  3. Cut the ginger into thin slices.
  4. Finely chop the garlic (so kids eat them without knowing).
  5. Heat up the cooking oil until hot.  Stir-fry the ginger slices.  Add chopped garlic.  Fry until fragrant at low heat.

20141225_123931_0

6.   Maintaining low heat all the while, add in the beef but without the marinate.  Stir-fry until half cooked.

20141225_124727_0

7.  Add in all the other ingredients (radish, carrot, onion) and stir it to mix well.  Pour in the remaining marinate.  Cover the lid tight and let it cook by itself.

8.  This picture below is after 45 min of cooking (and stirring another time in between to mix everything well).  Close lid tightly again and let it cook for another 45min.

20141225_133549_0

9.  Lastly, depending on how thick you like the gravy to be, add in a little corn flour water at a time until you get the consistency you prefer.

10. Serve with extra big bowl of rice and lots of gravy cos the man loves it.  Bon Apetit! 🙂

Given the cool weather this month, I find it comforting to eat stewed food.  It warms the stomach and simple food makes the family happy too.  Hope you enjoy trying out this recipe and if you have liked what you’ve read, pls like our Facebook page at SAys! Happy Mums.  Hope to see you back again soon! 🙂

– SAys! Shirley

About SAys! Happy Mums

We are a Singapore Mum Blog hosted by BFFs Shirley & Audrey. We blog about our children, parenting and family lifestyle. Most often than not, we find ourselves immersed in family and kids entertainment and can't escape from the lure of great food!

One thought on “Chinese Beef Stew

  1. Pingback: To Market, To Market : Chinatown Complex Market & Food Centre | SAys! Happy Mums | SAys! Happy Mums

Leave a Reply

